“The Glass A Whole Lot Closer to Full” Tim Karan, Granville County Commissioner

The following is an update from Tim Karan, our only Republican Granville County Commissioner. It is important for us to stay informed on local issues, and see how our commissioners are spending our tax dollars:

You may have read that at the September Granville County Commissioners meeting there was a request from the Tar River Land Conservancy for $20,000.00 to be used as part of local support to purchase a 215 acre tract of land on Stem’s southern boundary. Our local money would be part of the total $733,000 purchase price, funded by various government trusts. I voted against this action for a few reasons. First, I have it on very good authority that Stem was involved with the land owners trust administrator about getting a portion of the property, which is in the city limits, donated to the town. This purchase would block this. Second, a letter to my board indicated that the land may be used in the future for some form of park; until that time it would be used for timber and wildlife management. I don’t like to spend public money on “we might” or “we envision” or for uses that are restricted to a private group of people. Third, this is how we get ourselves into the green box. From time to time people ask me how in the world the United Nations could implement Agenda 21 in our area. Well it is happening right here, right now, and you and I are not only being marched into order, they’ve got us paying for it.
Don’t get me wrong, I have worked very hard for recreation opportunities in our area. I had the equipment installed at Lake Rogers and I just led a playground build in Creedmoor at Harris Park, which will have an upcoming ribbon cutting. I initiated the requirement for new developments in Creedmoor to have active open spaces. I added 25 feet to stream buffers in Creedmoor before NC required it. I get it; we should all give an inch for the environment, some folks want the whole foot.
This green agenda dominated the September commissioners meeting. The next item we handled was a request from our Environmental Affairs Committee asking us to oppose hydraulic fracturing. Again I was the lone NO vote. I asked three questions of the EAC. First, were any opposing points of view presented to the Committee? Second, were they aware that the EPA had not yet released their findings, and that they were not expected until 2014? Third, had they researched non-hydraulic fracturing or dry fracturing? Since all of these questions were answered with a NO, I voted NO on this restriction.
Initially as a City Commissioner and now as a County Commissioner, I attend the National Association meetings that take place in Washington, DC each spring. There I learn about what is going on in our nation and I share what is happening in Granville County. As an aside, I meet with our members in DC. Over the years I have attended various seminars and symposia covering what we know of fracturing and I have learned there are “facts” and “experts” that seem to support every argument for or against it. I tend to favor the ‘glass is half full’ approach and I’ve been convinced that this glass a whole lot closer to full.